A sharp solitude Cristine Carbo

Book recommendation: A sharp solitude – Cristine Carbo

My first book recommendation for 2020 is Book 4 of the Glacier Mystery series: A Sharp Solitude by Cristine Carbo.

I am trialing a new format for these reviews. I think the blurb generally offers the best summary for a book so I am just going to highlight tropes and aspects that led me to rate it a 4 or 5 star vs a standard 3. As per usual, I have included a universal book link as well as a link to Goodreads reviews. I am not an affiliate for any store. All of the books I recommend are ones I have bought or intend to buy for my personal collection.

Summary

Hero: Solitary ‘mountain man’ with a cute canine companion

Heroine: Single mom detective (the hero is the biological dad)

Trope: Second-chance romance complicated by the hero becoming a suspect in a case the heroine is investigating

Why I rated the book 4 or 5 star: Great descriptions of Glacier National Park. Interesting characters. Well written. I am hooked and will now read the rest of the series.

Blurb

A gripping new mystery from the “fresh new voice in the thriller genre” (Steve Berry, New York Times bestselling author) and author of The Wild Inside, set in the magnificent and brutal terrain of Glacier National Park—for fans of C.J. Box and Nevada Barr.

In the darkening days of autumn, in a remote region near the Canadian border, a journalist has been murdered. Anne Marie Johnson was last seen with Reeve Landon, whose chocolate Labrador was part of an article she had been writing about a scientific canine research program. Now Landon is the prime suspect. Intensely private and paranoid, in a panic that he’ll be wrongfully arrested, he ventures deep into in the woods. Even as he evades the detective, Landon secretly feels the whole thing is somehow deserved, a karmic punishment for a horrifying crime he committed as a young boy.

While Montana FBI investigator Ali Paige is not officially assigned to the case, Landon—an ex-boyfriend and the father of her child—needs help. Ali has only one objective for snooping around the edges of an investigation she’s not authorized to pursue: to save her daughter the shame of having a father in jail and the pain of abandonment she endured as a child. As the clock ticks and the noose tightens around Landon’s neck, Ali isn’t sure how far she will go to find out the truth. And what if the truth is not something she wants to know?

A Sharp Solitude is a study of two flawed characters, bonded by a child, trying to make their way in an extraordinary place where escape seems possible. But no one can ever really outrun their demons, even in the vast terrain of Glacier, the ultimate backdrop for a journey of the soul.

Goodreads reviews